Who are we? History Committee Past Committees

Who are we?

CompSoc is the University of Canterbury’s Computer Society, representing students in Computer Science, Software Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics, and related areas. CompSoc facilitates students to engage with their departments & colleges, meet industry professionals and enjoy our range of social events.

Our goal is to help our members grow academically, socially, and professionally with a range of events throughout the year. From relaxing at our termly BBQs, getting help and advice at our weekly help sessions, to networking opportunities with key members of companies from around New Zealand, Australia and the world. While we strongly encourage CSSE and Math&Stats students to join, we welcome students from across all faculties. So whatever you’re interested in, you are bound to find something that you will enjoy.


old logo

CompSoc has held a strong presence in the UC community since our beginnings in 2003, but our “written history” begins in late 2010 with six passionate computer science students. Since then, our club has grown steadily - the committee is now more than three times its original size! At the beginning of 2016, CompSoc rebranded to become the beautiful blue and orange masterpiece it is today. In 2018, and moving forward, we strive to expand the range and quality of our events and opportunities for all students.

2019 Committee

Past Committees


    2018 Committee
  • Louis Attenborough President
  • Kirill Kirillov Vice President
  • Hamish Johnston Vice President
    Equity Officer
  • Philippa Richardson Treasurer
  • Exequiel Bahamonde Cárcamo Secretary
    Equity Officer
  • Kusal Ekanayake Marketing Director
  • Rebecka Cox Academic Events Manager
  • Sam Spekreijse Academic Events Manager
  • William Muir Social Events Manager
  • Patricia David Social Events Manager
  • Manveer Bhullar Maths/ Stats Postgraduate Representative
  • Position available CSSE Postgraduate Representative
  • Amanda Deacon Maths/ Stats Representative
  • Jen Lowe Maths/ Stats Representative
  • Elizabeth Wilson Third Year Representative
  • Alanna Reid Third Year Representative
  • Tiger Huang Second Year Representative
  • Gavin Ong Second Year Representative
  • Jake Faulkner First Year Representative
  • Rhys Jennings First Year Representative


2017 Committee
  • Emily Price President
  • Dion Woolley Vice President
    Postgraduate Representative
  • Samuel Yamoah Vice President
  • Louis Attenborough Treasurer
  • Hamish Johnston Secretary
    Equity Officer
  • Sam Spekreijse Academic Events Manager
  • Amanda Deacon Academic Events Manager
  • Kirill Kirillov Social Events Manager
  • Chris Guo Social Events Manager
  • Philippa Richardson Second Year Representative
  • Shaylee Bright First Year Representative
  • Tiger Huang First Year Representative
  • Gavin Ong First Year Representative


2016 Committee
  • Sarang Love Leehan President
  • Dion Woolley Vice President
  • Greg Best Treasurer
  • Hamish Johnston Secretary
    Equity Officer
  • Emily Price Academic Events Manager
    Equity Officer
  • Amanda Deacon Academic Events Manager
  • Jonty Trombik Social Events Manager
  • Samuel Yamoah Social Events Manager
  • Ben Moskovitz Marketing Director
  • Aaron Stockdill Postgraduate Representative
  • Adam Tupper Second Year Representative
  • Louis Attenborough Second Year Representative
  • Aaron Bong First Year Representative
  • Philippa Richardson First Year Representative


2015 Committee
  • Carina Blair President
  • Marcus Stenfert Kroese Vice President
  • Greg Best Treasurer
  • Hamish Johnston Secretary
  • Clare Ford Academic Events Manager
  • Jamie Corrigan Academic Events Manager
  • Emily Benson Social Events Manager
  • Sarang Love Leehan Marketing Director
  • Caitlin Duncan Postgraduate Representative
  • Greg Best Second Year Representative
  • Toni James Second Year Representative
  • Louis Attenborough First Year Representative


2014 Committee
  • Marcus Stenfert Kroese President
  • Andrew CurtisBlack Vice President
  • Rachel Gardner Treasurer
  • Matt Barton Academic Events Manager
  • Hadi Roudaki Social Events Manager
  • Roseanna Grundy Marketing Director
  • Sam Jarman Postgraduate Representative
  • Carina Blair Second Year Representative
  • Sarang Love Leehan First Year Representative
  • Jamie Corrigan First Year Representative
  • Hamish Johnston First Year Representative
  • Greg Best First Year Representative


2013 Committee
  • Sam Jarman President
  • Cody Harringon Vice President
  • Scott Ogden Treasurer
  • Michael van de Water Secretary
  • Hayden Jackson Academic Events Manager
  • Michael Gorman Social Events Manager
  • Alice Cresswell Marketing Director
  • Caitlin Duncan Postgraduate Representative
  • Hadi Roudaki Second Year Representative
  • Carina Blair First Year Representative
  • Sam Chau First Year Representative


2012 Committee
  • Neal Nankivell President
  • Paddy Polson Vice President
  • Michael Norrie Treasurer
  • Jan Fockenga Secretary
  • Sam Jarman Academic Events Manager
  • Kieran Ormandy Social Events Manager
  • Ellie Rasmus Marketing Director
  • Ben Munro Webmaster
  • Daniel Schramm Postgraduate Representative
  • Cain Cresswell-Miley Second Year Representative
  • George Xian Second Year Representative
  • Michael van de Water First Year Representative


2011 Committee
  • Daniel Schramm President
  • Max Brosnahan Vice President
  • Joel Harrison Treasurer
  • Lewis Christie Secretary
  • Andrew Bryant Events Manager
  • Andrei Miulescu Webmaster
  • Chris Jensen NZCS Liason
  • Sam Jarman Postgraduate Representative
  • George Xian First Year Representative
  • Brenton Milne First Year Representative